Olympics: New Zealand’s Roster – Three U-20 Players Among Top Eighteen

On Friday, New Zealand released the roster for its Olympic women’s soccer team (NZFootball.co.nz). Sixteen of the eighteen primary players participated in last year’s Women’s World Cup. The roster features six U-20 players in all: three on the main roster, and three alternates. The Football Ferns will also have one of the oldest players, starting goalkeeper Jenny Bindon, who will be 39 years, 150 days when the Olympic soccer tournament begins in July.

The two newcomers are veteran back-up goalkeeper Rebecca Rolls and U-20 defender Rebekah Stott. Rolls is a two-sport player, as she has also competed with the women’s national cricket team of New Zealand (www.espncricinfo.com). Stott, a native New Zealander, just recently switched her FIFA national status from Australia, which is where she has lived since age eleven (NZFootball.co.nz).

Besides Stott, two other U-20 players will be on the main roster, forwards Rosie White and Hannah Wilkinson.  White, the captain of the U-20s, currently attends UCLA, while Wilkinson, who scored against the senior USWNT earlier this year in Texas, will be attending the University of Tennessee this fall.  Also, three of the alternates are U-20 players: defender Katie Bowen, a UNC recruit; defender/midfielder Holly Patterson; and goalkeeper Erin Nayler. Nayler is the only uncapped player on the entire list.

The only other current collegiate player is Cal’s Betsy Hassett.

New Zealand is coached by Tony Readings, who previously helmed the Football Ferns’ youth teams. Readings took over from John Herdman who is now in charge of Canada’s women’s soccer team.

New Zealand is in Group E, where they will face host Great Britain in the opening match of the tournament, followed by Brazil, and finally Cameroon.

* * *


Bindon, Jenny (Hibiscus Coast)
Rolls, Rebecca (Fencibles United)


Erceg, Abby (Fencibles United)
Green, Anna (Lokomotive Leipzig, GER)
Hill, Kristy (Eastern Suburbs)
Percival, Ria (USV Jena, GER)
Riley, Ali (Malmö, SWE)
Smith, Rebecca (VfL Wolfsburg, GER)
Stott, Rebekah (Melbourne Victory, AUS)


Hassett, Betsy (UC Berkeley, USA)
Hoyle, Katie (Bad Neuenahr, GER)
Longo, Annalie (Three Kings United)
Moorwood, Hayley (Chelsea, ENG)
Yallop, Kirsty (Vittsjö, SWE)

Gregorius, Sarah (Bad Neuenahr, GER)
Hearn, Amber (USV Jena, GER)
White, Rosie (UCLA, USA)
Wilkinson, Hannah (Glenfield Rovers / U. of Tennesse)

Bowen, Katie (Glenfield Rovers / UNC)
McLaughlin, Sarah (Claudelands Rovers)
Nayler, Erin (Eastern Suburbs)
Patterson, Holly (Claudelands Rovers)

TABLE: New Zealand’s Semi-Official Olympic Roster, By Position

PLAYER              P.   S#       D.O.B.   Caps    G
Bindon, Jenny       GK    1   02/25/1973     69    0
Rolls, Rebecca      GK   18   08/22/1975     14    0
Erceg, Abby         DF    5   11/20/1989     72    4
Green, Anna         DF    3   08/20/1990     50    6
Hill, Kristy        DF   14   07/01/1979     19    0
Percival, Ria       DF    2   12/07/1989     70    2
Riley, Ali          DF    7   10/30/1987     61    1
Smith, Rebecca      DF    6   06/17/1981     68    4
Stott, Rebekah      DF   15   06/17/1993      3    0
Hassett, Betsy      MF   12   08/04/1990     38    4
Hoyle, Katie        MF    4   02/01/1988     62    1
Longo, Annalie      MF   16   07/01/1991     42    0
Moorwood, Hayley    MF    8   02/13/1984     80   10
Yallop, Kirsty      MF   11   11/04/1986     59   11
Gregorius, Sarah    FW   10   08/06/1987     28   15
Hearn, Amber        FW    9   11/28/1984     59   30
White, Rosie        FW   13   06/06/1993     35    9
Wilkinson, Hannah   FW   17   05/28/1992     33   12
--- ALTERNATES -------------------------------------
Bowen, Katie        DF   19   04/15/1994      8    0
McLaughlin, Sarah   FW   20   06/03/1991     11    0
Patterson, Holly    MF   21   04/16/1994      4    0
Nayler, Erin        GK   22   04/17/1992      0    0

* * *

SEE ALSO: Other Olympic Rosters
(in order of release date, most recent first)

  1. New Zealand
  2. Sweden
  3. Colombia
  4. Great Britain
  5. Canada
  6. South Africa
  7. United States

Still waiting on Brazil (June 29th), Japan, Cameroon, and North Korea.

%d bloggers like this: