UEFA Women’s Euro 2013: Group Qualifying Has Completed

On Wednesday, September 19th, the group stage of qualifying for the 2013 Women’s European Championship concluded. The final day of group play saw England, Norway, and Denmark secure their spots in the final twelve team tournament, joining already qualified Germany, Italy, France, Finland, and host Sweden. Also, the Netherlands earned a spot as the best runner-up in the seven groups. Still alive are the remaining second-placed teams from the groups: Russia, Spain, Iceland, Scotland, Ukraine, and Austria, who will be paired for home-and-away play-off series.

The draw for the play-offs will be held on Friday, September 21st, with the play-off matches scheduled for October 20/21 and 24/25. Then, on November 9th, the draw to determine the groups in the final tournament will be conducted. The final tournament runs from July 10 to July 28, 2013.

Qualified Teams So Far

  • Host (1): Sweden (automatically qualified)
  • Group Winners (7): Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, and Norway
  • Best Runner-Up (1): Netherlands
  • Play-Off Winners (3): to be determined

See Also: UEFA.com Women’s Euro micro-site

%d bloggers like this: