USWNT: Roster Announced For Last Camp Before Olympic Qualifying

On the last Friday of 2019,  U.S. Soccer released the roster for the United States Women’s National Team’s first camp of 2020, which will run from Sunday, January 5th to Wednesday, January 15th, and will be held in Florida.  This will be the last camp before CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying, which kicks off on January 28th.

External Link:  Andonovski Names 28-Player Training Camp Roster To Kick Off 2020 For The U.S. Women’s National Team (U.S. Soccer)

New USWNT head coach Vlatko Andonovski has called in 28 players, including 22 member of the USA’s 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup squad.  Of that squad, all but Alex Morgan (pregnancy) have been named to this roster.The five WWC players who were not available for the last window of friendlies in November 2019 due to injuries are all back:   Defenders Tierna Davidson, Crystal Dunn, Ali Krieger, and Kelley O’Hara, plus forward Megan Rapinoe.

Five of the six non-WWC players have senior USWNT caps, including Margaret Purce of Portland Thorns FC, who received her first – and only cap so far – in the USA’s last match of 2019, against Costa Rica on November 10th.  The only uncapped player on the roster is U-20 USWNT forward Sophia Smith, who is currently a sophomore at Stanford University.  The other four non-WWC players called up are goalkeeper Jane Campbell, outside back Casey Short, midfielder Andi Sullivan, and forward Lynn Williams.  Three of these players – Smith, Purce, and Campbell – were  attendees of the USWNT’s December 2019 identification camp.

For this camp, Penn State head coach Erica (Walsh) Dambach will serve as an assistant coach and Wake Forest head coach Philip Poole will serve as the goalkeeper coach. (Twitter)  The former goalkeeping coach, Graeme Abel, was recently hired as the head coach of the women’s soccer team at the University of Oregon.

*not a member of the 2019 FIFA WWC squad
^no senior USWNT caps

Jane Campbell (Houston Dash; 3 caps)*
Adrianna Franch (Portland Thorns FC; 3 caps)
Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride; 24 caps)
Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars; 57 caps)

Abby Dahlkemper (North Carolina Courage; 53 caps, 0 goals)
Tierna Davidson (Chicago Red Stars; 25 caps, 1 goals)
Crystal Dunn (North Carolina Courage; 96 caps, 24 goals)
Ali Krieger (Orlando Pride; 104 caps, 2 goals)
Kelley O’Hara (Utah Royals FC; 125 caps, 2 goals)
Margaret Purce (Portland Thorns FC; 1 caps, 0 goals)*
Becky Sauerbrunn (Utah Royals FC; 171 caps, 0 goals)
Casey Short (Chicago Red Stars; 31 caps, 0 goals)*
Emily Sonnett (Portland Thorns FC; 40 caps, 0 goals)

Morgan Brian (Chicago Red Stars; 87 caps, 8 goals)
Julie Ertz (Chicago Red Stars; 95 caps, 19 goals)
Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC; 78 caps, 12 goals)
Rose Lavelle (Washington Spirit; 38 caps, 10 goals)
Allie Long (Reign FC; 51 caps, 8 goals)
Samantha Mewis (North Carolina Courage; 60 caps, 14 goals)
Andi Sullivan (Washington Spirit; 15 caps, 0 goals)*

Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC; 162 caps, 32 goals)
Carli Lloyd (Sky Blue FC; 288 caps, 121 goals)
Jessica McDonald (North Carolina Courage; 14 caps, 2 goals)
Christen Press (Utah Royals FC; 130 caps, 51 goals)
Mallory Pugh (Washington Spirit; 62 caps, 18 goals)
Megan Rapinoe (Reign FC; 160 caps, 50 goals)
Sophia Smith (Stanford University; 0 caps, 0 goals)*^
Lynn Williams (North Carolina Courage; 21 caps, 6 goals)*

%d bloggers like this: